Free crochet baby cardigan pattern

20120814-193818.jpg

20120814-193831.jpg

20120814-193842.jpg

20120814-193849.jpg

Here is a free pattern for you to try.

I used a size 4 crochet hook and double knit wool for the red and the grey cardigans. Whilst I tried a super soft organic cotton for the white one. All designs have been slightly adapted, so feel free to play around with different combinations. The red one has no button holes and is fastened with a big double satin ribbon. The grey cardigan has button holes (in the picture I have not sewn on the buttons yet … Couldn’t quite decide!) and the white cardigan has a scallop edge plus short sleeves finished again with a scallop edge. The possibilities are endless… So have a go at the basic design and then play! I would love to see your completed cardigans!

You can also order bespoke cardigans from my shop

The pattern for a newborn

Slip knot
Chain (ch) 50

Row 1
Treble (tr) into 4th ch from hook
Tr into every ch (47 sts)

Row 2
Ch 2
Turn
*1tr into next 4 sts, 2tr into 5th st (rep from * to end) (57 sts)

Row 3
Ch 2
Turn
*1tr into next 5 sts, 2tr into 6th st (rep from * to end) (67 sts)

Row 4
Ch 2
Turn
*1tr into next 6sts, 2tr into 7th st (rep from * to end) (77 sts))

Row 5
Ch 2
Turn
*1tr into next 7sts, 2tr into 8th st (rep from * to end) (87sts)

Row 6
Ch 2
Turn
*1tr into next 8sts, 2tr into 9th st (rep from * to end) (97 sts)

Row 7
Ch 2
Turn

Create a bobble
*Yarn over hook, Hook through 2nd st, Yarn over hook, (rep from * two more times)
Pull yarn through all sts on hook (7)
Yarn over, pull through st

Create a bobble again through same st.

*Ch 1, Miss three, 2 bobbles ( rep from * twice more)
Miss three, 1 bobble (3 1/2 bobble sets on the front)
Count 19
1 bobble into st
(this leaves a space for the armhole)

*ch 1, miss three, 2 bobbles (rep from * 7 times)
Count 19
1 bobble into st

*ch 1, miss three, 2 bobbles (rep from * 3 times to end) ch1 miss one st
1 tr into last st

So you should have 2 x 3 1/2 bobble sets on the front
Then
1/2 bobble, 7 bobble sets, 1/2 bobble on the back plus two arm holes of 19 chains in each gap.

Row 8-16

Ch 2
*Miss three, 2 bobbles, ch 1(rep from * to end)
Tr into last st

When the cardigan is the required length ch 1, turn, double chain (dc) around the edge into every st. Repeat.

I like to complete a third row of dc at the base of the cardigan to give a professional finish.
Fasten off and weave in loose thread.

Sleeves
Knot in yarn under arm to fasten the two bobbles together.
Row 1-7
1 really loose ch
*2 bobble into first st,ch1, miss three (rep from *) (6 sets of bobbles)
Slip stitch (ss) into first ch

Row 8&9
1ch, dc into every st, ss into 1st st
Fasten off and repeat on other sleeve.

This pattern has no button holes as I used a ribbon at the waist through two tr.

How to create button holes

On the second round of dc when you reach the desired side for button holes all you do is sacrifice some 2 dc’s, ch 3 instead and dc into 2nd ch from hook for as many buttonholes as you require.

Now I think you will need to stock up on wool as this is a lovely little design.

To make larger cardigans

All I do for slightly larger and looser designs is increase the size of my hook and yarn.

You can also add multiples of six to enlarge the design. This is due to the design requiring two extra bobbles (one for each side to keep it even).

Enjoy and let me know how you get on πŸ™‚

Update

Look look look!

I am sooooo happy, other bloggers are using my patterns and sharing their creations with me! I am sooooo happy!
greendragonfly

20120904-155442.jpg

And look at this beauty

20120904-155335.jpg

26 thoughts on “Free crochet baby cardigan pattern

  1. I am trying to make your cardigan and ran into a problem when I started the row of bobbles. I didn’t have enough chains to follow the pattern. Could you please comment on how many total stitches are at the end of each row? I’d really appreciate it. I love this cardigan and want to make it as baby gifts!

    • Hi, sorry I have taken a while to reply … I will add the stitch count as soon as I figure it out … Something to point out just incase you missed it … One sleeve is 19 chains and the other is 20, you don’t notice it, but it was just as I had free formed the cardigan and wrote it up afterwards πŸ™‚
      I will get onto it now for you πŸ™‚

      • Thank you so very much! I will attempt it and let you know how it goes! I thinks it’s adorable!

      • So sorry to bother you again, but both my sister and myself have tried to make your cardigan after you added the stitch count to the end of each row and neither one of us can get it to work out. Does the chain 2 at the beginning of each row count as a stitch? I just don’t understand what we are doing wrong!

  2. Hello! I came across this pattern just love it! I am the editor of AllFreeCrochet.com and would love to feature your tutorial on my site with full credit to you. I know my readers would love it as well, and in return would generate some nice traffic to your site. If you agree and would like us to feature your project, our readers will simply click the link to your blog to get your full tutorial. It’s really that simple. Please let me know if this would be ok. I look forward to hearing from you!
    Jenny
    Jbenoit@primecp.com

    • Hi Jenny
      Aw thank you for the compliments! I would love for you to feature m pattern! Feel free to feature whatever you think your followers would like. I’m working on a few different ones now, but I got a little side tracked this evening as I scaled the cardigan down … Just about to write a blog on my kitty creation hahaha!
      I really am flattered by this offer! So thank you very much!
      Speak soon
      Happy crafting
      Selina x

  3. These are stunning – I would like to make one for a friend who is due over christmas – please could you advice how much yarn I will need and also did you have more sucess with 4 or 8 ply? Thank you for sharing such a cute project – I am very much looking forward to trying it!

    • Thank you Janet πŸ™‚ aw bless, it will be a lovely gift πŸ™‚ I tend to use a 100g ball of double knit yarn, I think 4 ply would be best as it can be quite delicate that way. From one ball of yarn there is usually enough left to make matching booties too πŸ™‚ it takes me about 2-3 hours to complete a cardigan too πŸ™‚ … Depending on whether my kittens want to ‘help’ too πŸ™‚ let me know how you get on … I’d love to see hem finished πŸ™‚ x

      • Thank you so much – great info – now to find some gorgoes hand died merino yarn and get started – I will definatly email you a pic of the finished cardi. This will be my first proper cardi – I make wee rap around tops for the premi babys at our local hospital mostly – that is as far as I’ve got so this is really branching out for me πŸ™‚ Our cat loves to chase the balls of yarn πŸ™‚ Thank you again for the pattern – I’m quite excited to get started.

      • Wow that sounds beautiful! I can’t wait to see it πŸ™‚ what a wonderful thing to do for families at such tough times!
        My cats are cheeky as today we came home to a yarn spider web ALL OVER our living space … It’s a huge space 30m x40m, they managed to get a whole ball of some expensive organic cotton yarn AND a spool of thread, intricately weaving their web as a welcome home present! They were really cute though as they met us at the door and led us into their creation lol! I think they were proud of their ‘present’! Lol! Oooo I love them!
        Have fun making the cardi πŸ™‚ x

Leave a comment