Free crochet hat pattern for Premature babies

Free premature babies crochet hat pattern

20120728-214343.jpg

This is a simply adorable and highly addictive crochet pattern … I can assure you will be hooked 🙂

So here it goes, Enjoy!

I use a size 4mm crochet hook and 4 ply baby yarn or cotton. I have experimented with other yarns and hooks, but I think this is a perfect combo.

Create a slip knot and chain (ch) 2

6 double crochet (dc) into second ch from hook

Slip stitch (ss) into first dc, ch 1 (6 stitches)

2dc into each st (12 stitches) ss into first st

Ch 1

*1dc into first st, 2dc into 2nd st (rep from *) (18 stitches) ss into first st

Ch 1

*1 dc into 1st and 2nd st, 2dc into 3rd st (rep from *) (24 stitches) ss into first st

Ch 1

*1 dc into 1st, 2nd and 3rd st (rep from *) (30 stitches) ss into first st

Ch 1

This is the bit where I play around a bit with different stitches. The one in the pattern starts with 3 rounds of dc into each stitch followed by 2 rounds of trebles and 2 more rounds of dc into each stitch. ( I hope that makes sense!)

I also put a tiny chain scallop edge around the bottom.

You do this by

*Ch 3 miss 2 stitches ss into 3rd stitch (rep from *)

You can scallop the edge more by chaining more stitches but still ss into every 3rd stitch.

Don’t be afraid of making up your own combo’s … I will update this pattern with more photos of various yarns, stitch combinations and hook sizes so you can choose the best one.

20120728-220010.jpg

20120728-220053.jpg

3 thoughts on “Free crochet hat pattern for Premature babies

    • Hi
      Thank you for your comment 🙂 I am glad you like it x

      I am new to all of this technology and so far I have managed to set up an Etsy shop which I will be stocking as soon as my girls arrive and posting the launch date on this blog, my Facebook Kawaii Blythe and my twitter @kawaiiblythe. When my twitter gets 100 followers I will be launching a competition to win one of my hand made OOAK creations.

      I hope you enjoy all that I create and I look forward to more of your feedback 🙂

      Have a great day, KawaiiBlythe

    • Hi
      Thank you for your comment 🙂 I am glad you like it x

      I am new to all of this technology and so far I have managed to set up an Etsy shop which I will be stocking as soon as my girls arrive and posting the launch date on this blog, my Facebook Kawaii Blythe and my twitter @kawaiiblythe. When my twitter gets 100 followers I will be launching a competition to win one of my hand made OOAK creations.

      I hope you enjoy all that I create and I look forward to more of your feedback 🙂

      Have a great day, KawaiiBlythe

Leave a Reply

